Close Gallery
Zoom Picture

Port of Spain. – Mexico, in its capacity of Chair of the Ministerial Council, will convene the 19th Ordinary Meeting of the Ministerial Council of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS) on 14th February, 2014 at the Hilton Hotel, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago. The meeting is scheduled to commence at 9am, with representative delegations expected to be in attendance from ACS Member and Associate Member States; ACS Founding Observers; Observing Countries and Social Actors.

The Hon. Winston Dookeran, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Trinidad and Tobago, on behalf of the host country of the ACS Secretariat, is scheduled to deliver opening remarks, followed by remarks from the Chair, Hon. José Antonio Meade Kuribreña, Chairman of the Ministerial Council and Secretary of Foreign Affairs of Mexico. Introductory proceedings for the 19th Ministerial Council meeting will close with an address from His Excellency Alfonso Múnera, Secretary General of the ACS.

The meeting, which is held annually, will also seek to elect a new Chair of the Ministerial Council. The Ministerial Council comprises of representatives of Member States and is the principal Organ for policy-making and direction of the Association whose purpose is to identify and promote the implementation of its policies and programmes. The Meeting will provide an update of the activities of the Association as well as approve the Work Programme for the biennium 2014-2015.

Among meeting objectives outlined on the agenda for the 19th Ordinary Meeting of the Ministerial Council of the ACS, are the Reports of the Secretary General and the Chair of the Ministerial Council on last year’s period 2012-2013. Discussions will also be held regarding the hosting for the VI Summit of Heads and State or Government carded for April of this year in Mexico. Mexico, functioning as host country for this year’s Summit, will provide a report on the current state of preparations as it relates to the VI Summit.

The Meeting will be preceded by a one-day Preparatory session scheduled to take place on Thursday 13th February, 2013.

ACS nations  

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curaçao, Turks and Caicos, France on behalf of Martinique, Guadelope, Guyane, St. Barthèlemy & Saint Martin. 

Share / Recommend this article: FacebookFacebook Digg thisDigg this TechnoratiTechnorati YahooYahoo Facebook
1 comment(s)
Written by: generoso, 12 Feb 2014 11:05 AM
From: Dominican Republic

One more opportunity for an association of yawning bureaucrats, to hold another empty suit meeting, to condemn the Dominican Republic, and demand the DR be the solution to the Haitian problems.
While the "good samaritans" do the exact opposite, and vigorously reject entries of Haitian illegals into their shores, reaching the point of maliciously sinking their lifeboats.
Post Your Comment | Not a member? Create your account | Lost your password?
Write your opinion here. Please keep your comment relevant to this article. Please note that any comments which contain offensive language or discriminatory expressions may be edited/removed.
You must log in to post a comment:
Username Password